# Getra Transformers rotary current transformers, chokes,switchboard construction
Imprint Privacy policy

Storage Chokes

Technical Description:

Storage chokes are typically used in switched-mode power supplies. Their function is to store the energy which is absorbed by the choke during the conduction phase. In the blocking phase they then supply the stored energy to the series-connected load or the smoothing capacitors. The constant rise and fall in the choke current results in an approximately triangular current waveform at the storage choke.

The storage energy W is derived from the inductance L and the choke current I according to the following formula:

W = ½ x L x I²

As a result of the increasing miniaturization of switched-mode power supplies and the requirement to set the clock frequency of the valves used in the switched-mode power supplies above the range of audibility, it is normal to work with switching frequencies in the range from 20 kHz to 100 kHz. These high frequencies which are applied to the chokes make it essential to use high-quality cores. The high frequencies result in high power losses which vary according to the core material and the core volume. These heat up the storage choke and put severe constraints on the conditions for use as far as the ambient temperature is concerned. GETRA therefore use cores made of high-quality materials such as MPP (molyper-malloy) and HF (High-Flux) which are suitable for high frequencies and are characterized by low core losses. As an alternative, however, low-cost cores of ferrous powder are also used.

The main parameters which are important for selecting the size of a storage choke are:
  • direct current preloading
  • current ripple
  • pulse frequency
  • ambient temperature
The direct current preloading results in a drop in the inductance at rated current compared with the no-load inductance. The permissible current ripple requires maximum saturation of the core material and is thus in direct relation to the core losses. The pulse frequency controls the inherent heating of the storage choke through the core losses and thus determines the maximum permissible ambient temperature.

Finally an example of how to select the right size of storage choke is shown below.

Given the following basic data for a switched-mode power supply:

UA = 12V; UV = 1,2V; IA = 5A; ∆I = 1A; f = 100kHz; vmin = 0,3

where:

UA Output voltage
UV Voltage loss at the diode and the storage choke
IA Output current
∆IA Residual ripple of the choke output current
f Pulse frequency of the switched-mode power supply
Vmin Minimum pulse duty factor

The required inductance L can be determined with the following formula:


Products:

Storage Chokes:
GETRA Geräte- und Transformatorenbau GmbH
Osterwaal / Schulgasse 3-5
84072 Au / Hallertau
Tel.: +49 (0) 8752 8608 -0
Fax: +49 (0) 8752 8608 -60

# Getra Transformatoren Drehstromtransformatoren Drossel Schaltschrankbau
Impressum

Speicherdrosseln


Speicherdrosseln finden z. B. in Schaltnetzteilen Verwendung. Sie dienen zur Speicherung der Energie, die während der Leitphase durch die Drossel aufgenommen wird. In der Sperrphase wird dann die gespeicherte Energie an die nachgeschaltete Last bzw. an die Glättungskondensatoren abgegeben. Durch das ständige Ansteigen und Abfallen des Drosselstromes ergibt sich ein annähernd dreieckförmiger Stromverlauf an der Speicherdrossel.

Die Speicherenergie W ergibt sich aus der Induktivität L und dem Drosselstrom I. Es gilt:

W = ½ x L x I²

Durch die zunehmende Miniaturisierung der Schaltnetzteile und der Forderung, die Taktfrequenz der verwendeten Ventile in den Schaltnetzteilen oberhalb des Hörbereiches anzusiedeln, wird in der Regel mit Schaltfrequenzen im Bereich von 20 kHz bis 100 kHz gearbeitet. Bedingt durch diese hohen Frequenzen, mit der die Drosseln beaufschlagt werden, ist der Einsatz von qualitativ hochwertigen Kernen unabdingbar. Denn durch die hohen Frequenzen ergeben sich in Abhängigkeit des Kernmaterials und dem Kernvolumen hohe Verlustleistungen, die die Speicherdrossel erwärmen und die Einsatzbedingungen in Bezug auf die Umgebungstemperatur stark mindern. Deshalb werden bei der Firma GETRA Kerne aus hochwertigen Materialien wie MPP (Molypermalloy)und HF (High-Flux) eingesetzt, die für hohe Frequenzen geeignet sind und sich durch geringe Kernverluste auszeichnen. Alternativ dazu werden aber auch kostengünstige Kerne
aus Eisenpulver verwendet.

Bedeutend für die Dimensionierung einer Speicherdrossel sind vor allem:
  • Gleichstromvorbelastung
  • Stromwelligkeit
  • Taktfrequenz
  • Umgebungstemperatur
Durch die Gleichstromvorbelastung ergibt sich ein Abfall der Induktivität beim Nennstrom gegenüber der Leerlaufinduktivität. Die zulässige Stromwelligkeit bedingt die maximale Aussteuerung des Kernmaterials und steht damit in direktem Zusammenhang mit den Kernverlusten. Die Taktfrequenz steuert durch die Kernverluste die Eigenerwärmung der Speicherdrossel und bestimmt damit die maximal zulässige Umgebungstemperatur.

Abschließend soll noch die Dimensionierung einer Speicherdrossel aufgezeigt werden:

Gegeben sind folgende Eckdaten eines Schaltnetzteiles:

UA=12V; UV=1,2V; IA=5A; ∆I=1A; f=100kHz; Vmin=0,3

mit:

UA Ausgangsspannung
UV Spannungsverlust an der Diode und der Speicherdrossel
IA Ausgangsstrom
∆IA Restwelligkeit des Drossel-Ausgangsstromes
f Taktfrequenz des Schaltnetzteiles
Vmin minimales Tastverhältnis

Die benötigte Induktivität L lässt sich mit folgender Beziehung bestimmen:


Produkte:

Speicherdrosseln:
GETRA Geräte- und Transformatorenbau GmbH
Osterwaal / Schulgasse 3-5
84072 Au / Hallertau
Tel.: +49 (0) 8752 8608 -0
Fax: +49 (0) 8752 8608 -60